How to stop singing from the throat?

How to stop singing from the throat?

If it feels like you’re singing from the throat. There’s a pressure/discomfort there and it’s making it harder for you to sing.

I want to share with you today an idea that has really been helping me and my students lately. Alongside some very simple practical exercises to help you develop this.

Quick caveat before we begin. Today’s episode dives into the sensations/kinaesthetic side of singing - basically the feelings of singing.

Because people can experience sensations differently, so I would just encourage you to test this idea out. You don’t have to take this as the absolute truth.

Okay here’s the idea.

For a lot of us when we feel a lot of the strain, pressure or we’re singing from the throat. This is just a sign of inefficient singing. Maybe the vowel isn’t right, maybe your pushing too much air, maybe you’re tightening your throat. Whatever the reason, all of this can be grouped in inefficient singing.

Now why is this useful?

Just like there’s a certain placement/feeling when for “inefficient” singing. There is also a certain placement/feeling for “efficient” singing.

Now what is this?

Something that I’ve been experiencing/working through with my students. Is noticing a buzz somewhere more up and front.

Now this isn’t a concept that I’ve invented but rather I’m standing on the shoulders of giants. There’s plenty of talk about keeping a forward placement, singing into the mask.

What I think these imageries point to, is that keeping a buzz in this position is just a sign of more efficient singing. When we don’t have it and it drops to the throat, we lose these sense of ease.

So it can be really helpful when we’re singing or even doing exercises. Can I notice this more up/front buzz as opposed to having the sound feel like it’s coming from the throat.

Real quick before I dive into the exercises! For those of you who don’t know me. My name is Ivan, I love making music and also teaching singing to students all around the world. On this newsletter my goal is to make learning to sing simple. If that’s up your lane, consider subscribing. If you want to improve your voice faster, check out the links down below for ways to work with me

If you want to inspire our next episode! Drop in the comments below what you want me to talk about next.

So how can we explore this placement/sensation?

STEP 1: HUM

So I find the easiest way for me and my students to find this feeling of the mask is through a HUM with whimper/sob

So just simply find a nice comfortable hum. And you can even add a tiny whimper

[SEE VIDEO FOR DEMONSTRATION]

See if you can notice how the sound can sit in this slightly higher position. And most importantly I want you to notice the difference in effort or lightness in your voice. Does this feel easier?

Now a couple of caveats here:

  1. This lifted spot is not NASALITY. Yes I feel some sort of resonance there, but it’s not muffled like this

    1. [DEMONSTRATE]

  2. You’re not jamming the sound there.

    1. You’re just noticing it through employing the hum

STEP 2: SPEAKING WITH THE PLACEMENT

From here, you can also try learning to speak with this sensation.

But check out what happens when I learn to sit up in this mask resonance.

[SEE VIDEO FOR DEMONSTRATION]

Once again see if you can notice how the sound can move to this slightly higher position. And most importantly, does one feel easier?

Now the final step, is you can bring this general sensation into the song. Which means when you’re singing, let the sound sit in this higher up/forward spot.

[SEE VIDEO FOR DEMONSTRATION]

Remember: Ultimately this is just imagery that we’re using to help achieve easier singing. So even if you don’t feel it exactly as I’ve described. That’s okay.

Just aim to find this easy up and front spot. Where you’re not jamming it. Nor it it nasality. Keep trying and exploring. This is going to be key to developing your voice.

Anyway! I hope this episode was useful. If it was, please support this channel through all the usual social media stuff. Like, comment/subscribe.

If you’re from the podcast, leaving a 5 star would really help us grow and mean the world to me.

Last but not least, if you’ve always wanted to improve your singing faster and with less confusion. Remember you don’t have to do this on your own.

I’ve got ways to work with me in the description down below. Make sure to check it out. Apart from that, my name is Ivan, I'm your voice teacher, and I'll see you for our weekly tutorials every single Thursday or Friday.

Take care.

🌍 Book Private Singing Lessons here: https://calendly.com/singingsimply 

🌍 Stream my music: https://linktr.ee/singingsimply

🌍 Business/other inquiries: [email protected]