Finding the right voice teacher

Finding the right voice teacher

This is a great question! Some of you listening are probably at the stage where you’ve decided to take voice lessons. But the question now is who?

My answer is going to be biased. You know I personally teach lessons and part of me sharing this content is to build trust with you all to take the next step.

Which is to work with me.

However I’ve taken my fair share of lessons over the past years so will share some of the lessons I’ve learnt.

Real quick! For those of you who don’t know me. My name is Ivan, I love making music and also teaching singing to students all around the world. On this newsletter my goal is to make learning to sing simple. If that’s up your lane, consider subscribing. If you want to improve your voice faster, check out the links down below for ways to work with me

If you want to inspire our next episode! Drop in the comments below what you want me to talk about next.

Great singers aren’t always the best teachers

I want to start off with a common misconception. Usually when choosing a voice teacher, a common thought would be

“I’ll choose the teacher who has the best singing voice”

And this is fair. Surely, if this singing teacher has a really awesome singing voice. They must know what they are doing.

However I’m going to challenge this assumption. Because you can do something without really understand the mechanics of how it works.

For example, I’ve had the pleasure to coach/meet a lot of natural singers. Some of which who are really great. But the interesting thing is when you ask them, how they sing so well.

They might say something like, I just focus on my breathing OR I just focus on the emotions. Now this works for them because they’ve built all these habits/foundations that allow them to focus on this.

For some of us who haven’t built that! That feedback can dig your head in.

Rather you need to look for a teacher who is able to keep in mind where you’re at. And provided tailored feedback.

So what do you suggest Ivan? A great singing voice is great, but also look for the ability to pass on that knowledge.

Start by looking for testimonials/before & afters. If anything actual lessons posted online can be a great place.

Look for the ones who give you results. Vibes second.

What determines the right teacher? It’s someone who can actually tangibly help you improve your voice. If you don’t see improvements (given you’ve actually done the work)

Then why are you there and paying money?

Now how do we figure this out?

How do you know how high you can jump?

You have to try jumping

Testimonials, before/afters, you look at content. You’re scouring everything to can to see if this teacher is right for you. The problem with this, is they are just assumptions that they can get you results.

The only way you can truly know is DIRECT experience.

You will get more data on whether this teacher is right for you through a single session than scouring everything they have on the internet.

This is why a lot of voice teachers including myself will offer a trial lesson. This is great way to directly experience WITHOUT committing too much.

It’s a process

Finding the right voice teacher you want is a process.

Don’t put the pressure on yourself to have to find that right teacher in one go. Do a few trial lessons with a few teachers. This will give you a good starting point.

Also whilst I think there is merit to sticking with a teacher for an extended time, Since I think it takes time to truly absorb what a voice teacher is sharing.

You can always re-assess and decide what works best for you. Even for myself, I’ve studied with a few voice teachers in my journey. Some I’ve stayed with for years. Some less so. You’re never stuck.

Anyway that’s a wrap team! Hope you’ve found value out of this episode. If you did, please share this with a friend or on your social media. It really helps this channel grow and would mean the world to me.

Also talking about choosing the right teacher, if you’re looking for some tailored/specific help. I’ve got ways to study with me down in the description. Apart from that, my name is Ivan - I’m your voice teacher and I’ll see you next Thursday/Friday for our weekly episodes.

Take care!

Extra Links/Resources

🌍 Book Private Singing Lessons here: https://calendly.com/singingsimply 

🌍 Stream my music: https://linktr.ee/singingsimply

🌍 Business/other inquiries: [email protected]