Can I learn to sing at any age?

Singing Classes For Beginners

Can I learn to sing at any age?

So I browse Reddit a lot.

Especially sub-reddits that are focused on making music and singing. I’m a Voice Teacher who loves to make his own music! Go figure.

And on the singing subreddit, one of the most common questions that I see are ones like:

  • Can I learn to sing at [insert your age]?

  • Is it too late for me to learn how to sing?

  • Can I learn how to sing as an adult?

And I get it! For many, this can be a genuine concern.

After all, we see so many amazing talented singers taking on big stages and shows with a baby face. It’s no wonder we think to ourselves.

They must have been born with this voice…

There’s no way I could learn how to sing…

It’s too late for me…

But what if this wasn’t true? What if I could break down exactly why it is possible for you to learn how to sing at ANY age?

In fact, I’ll share exactly why it is possible for you alongside real world examples of people just like you learning to sing.

So let’s finally put this doubt of yours to rest.

P.s. Real quick! For those of you who don’t know me. My name is Ivan, I love making music and also teaching singing to students all around the world. On this newsletter my goal is to make learning to sing simple. If that’s up your lane, consider subscribing.

Stop looking at singing as a MAGICAL gift

The first point we need to make clear is there is nothing magical about singing.

To some extent, this is the precursor to why we feel like it’s too late for us.

Deep inside we think you need to be born with something different, something magical in order to sing.

And this isn’t surprising. Talent shows, singing competitions, growing up with friends who can sing. The world becomes divided into you can either sing or you can’t.

But here’s the thing…

If you peel back this magical curtain, what is SINGING.

At its core, singing is a NEURO MUSCULAR skill

What this means is similar to throwing a ball, it involves the use of different parts of your brain and different muscles across your body.

Now what’s different with singing is that the muscles are a lot finer and smaller! This requires more precision with control.

When you can understand this, you’ll start to realise that learning how to sing is entirely possible. I mean, would you have doubts about learning to throw a ball?

But you might be thinking Ivan. I’m too old.

There’s no way I can learn it now.

Maybe if I started a lot earlier as a teen. But not now.

And I get you. That’s what science thought as well. For a long time, we thought a lot of the learning was done in our early years.

Past a certain age and we’re now stuck.

But this has been proven on many occasions to not be true.

Our brains have been proven to be capable of re-organising themselves and building new connections way past our “golden years”. This is known as neuro-plasticity.

I mean just think of the skill that you’ve picked up in the past few years. I’m sure you also thought it was impossible until you did it.

The caveat though is it is harder. Simply because rather than building neural connections from a clean slate. We often have to take the time to unlearn those bad habits. Think of it like weeds in a garden.

This is why especially for adults, it’s incredibly important to take voice lessons. Proper feedback allows you to unlearn some of the bad habits and build the right ones easier.

And I see this all the time! In fact, most of my clients are actually adult beginners. I’ve worked with people in the 30s, 40s, and even 60s. All of them were able to see improvements in their singing, provided they actually did the work. (Check out some of the testimonials here)

Still don’t believe me?

Some of you reading that are thinking.

Ivan! You’re a voice teacher. Of course, you’re going to say it’s possible to learn how to sing.

You have an incentive. You’re trying to get me to sign up with you for singing lessons.

And yes of course I want to work with you. This is because I know I can help you. But this isn’t because I’m selling some sort of magical belief. It’s because learning how to sing is A GENUINE possibility.

But regardless, I want to share some stories that I found on Reddit. People who aren’t my clients. Real normal people just like you. Who is proving this to be true

Example 1:
Example 2:
Example 3:

So what now?

The reality is you can learn to sing at any age. And I have shared both the science and anecdotes.

“There are 2 types of people. Those who want and those who will”
- Source unknown

The real obstacle was never is it possible! But rather are you willing enough to find a way?

If you are, it all starts with sitting down and trying.

Choose a song, sing it, and try to figure out where you need to improve. And rinse and repeat.

If you feel stuck! Reach out for a voice lesson. You don’t have to figure it out on your own.

Thanks for joining me! I'm Ivan - your voice teacher. See you next Thursday/Friday for our weekly tutorial.

Extra Links/Resources

🌍 Book Private Singing Lessons here: https://calendly.com/singingsimply 

🌍 Stream my music: https://linktr.ee/singingsimply

🌍 Business/other inquiries: [email protected]